Contact Us
phone-icon +91 08518-255160
email-icon info@kurnoolmedicalcollege.in

Department of Community Medicine

The birth of the department took place along with other departments in 1956-57 and was nurtured by pioneers like Dr Prahlada Rao and Dr Vallabha Rao, Dr Y. Subramanyam MPH (Johns Hopkins), Dr Mohammed Ali, Dr I.L. Narasaiah, Dr T.M.V. Prasada Rao and Dr K. Janardhan Reddy. Post Graduate courses were introduced in 1982 with Dr G.B. Saranganath registering for PG Diploma and Dr C. Niranjan Paul, registering in 1983 as the first candidate for M.D. course.

Dr Prasada Rao was succeeded by Dr C. Niranjan Paul as the Head of the department from 1998 till May 2008. Structurally, the department has enlarged in terms of space and quality as shown by an impressive museum, seminar room and an undergraduate laboratory. Our department library is UN public reference Library. The department is the second one in our state, to get recognition by MCI, for both M.D.(1 seat) and DPH(1 seat) courses. The present Professor and HOD, Dr A. Sreedevi took charge of the department in 2008. In the academic year 2010-11, the number of MD seats were enhanced from one to three seats per year, which was recognised by MCI in 2016. RHTC Parla and UHC Sriram Nagar are under administrative control of our Department.

Dr C. Niranjan Paul is one of the CCT members for safe injection practices in the country and Dr C. Niranjan Paul and Dr. A. Sreedevi were principal investigators for the same. Report of the annual evaluation survey, ICDS project, 1994 was selected as one of the best six papers at the national conference of ICDS consultants, New Delhi, February 1995. Ahead of entering the new millennium, the department was the first one to acquire computers, internet and other modern equipment. In November 2001, State conference and State Level CME were successfully hosted for three days.

With active support from PATH, PSBH, India CLEN and other international agencies, the department has actively participated in critical national policy initiatives like safe injection practices, AFP control, neo-natal tetanus elimination, district supportive supervising activities to strengthen PHCs and tribal health care. We are proud to declare that the sero surveillance diagnostic laboratory, established with partnership of PATH-Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, is mentioned in WHO Monogram. In the year 2003, Dr Niranjan Paul was given WHO fellowship and invited to Khonkaen University, Thailand. Dr A. Sreedevi, the present HOD, was invited, during her tenure as an Associate Professor, to participate in GTN/WHO on AEFI at Colombo in June 2003. Dr S. Cynthia Subhaprada, the present Associate Professor, participated in the international conference of Bhutan-Bangladesh-India-Nepal network (WHO-BBIN) at Pune, in the year 2003, as a Post Graduate student, and presented a paper on Japanese Encephalitis. The department had an international student, Dr Sylvia delSel from the University of Liverpool, who worked for 3 months on JE vaccine efficacy in 2003.

Dr Venu Gopal Sharma, Dr Muralidhar, Dr Ravi Babu, Dr V. Venu Gopal Reddy, Dr Ashok Kumar Reddy, Dr C. Usha Rani and Dr M. L. Surya Prabha have served as second professors in the department. Dr M. L. Surya Prabha, a member of the Ethical Committee of NIN, has been appointed as Director of Research & Development, Dr.NTR University of Health Sciences, Vijayawada, on foreign deputation. Dr Y. Padmasri served the department as Associate Professor from 2011 to 2016.

Department faculty served as facilitators to other medical colleges in the state and also other states for PSBH student's research project, Dreyfus Health Foundation, New York, IMNCI, FIMNCI, NSSK, HMIS, Medical Education, and Industrial Inspector course and participated in evaluation of MICS, RCH, ICDS and various other National Health Programmes. AEFI committee was formed involving Kurnool SPM faculty for Rayalaseema region as per G.O.Ms.No.196. During the last few years, our department has participated in Investigation of cause of death among insured persons (SERP and DRDI),Kurnool and Anantapur districts, gap analysis in RMNCH+A, Kurnool district (UNICEF), Safe child birth checklist survey in Kurnool and Anantapur districts (JHPIEGO), Mission Indradhanush, CVP CES (GAVI Melinda Gates Foundation), WHO External Monitor- Pulse polio immunisation, SWITCH from t-OPV to b-OPV, and MR Campaign.

Dr A. Sreedevi, Dr M.L. Surya Prabha, Dr S. Cynthia Subhaprada, Dr S. Vijaya Kumari, have undergone training in T2T programme (2017) in collaboration with Dr NTR UHS and Harvard Medical School. Dr S. Cynthia Subhaprada secured the second place in the awards of Excellence for Capstone project under T2T programme.

Dr. S. Cynthia Subhaprada has also successfully completed RBCW-AETCOM at MCI Regional Centre, Gandhi Medical College, Secunderabad and Advanced Course in Medical Education (ACME 2015 B batch) at MCI Nodal Centre for Faculty Development, DoME, JNMC, Belagavi. She has participated in competency-based medical education workshop conducted by Edinburgh Medical College, University of Edinburgh at Osmania Medical College, Hyderabad. She is also the Nodal Officer, World Health Day 2017; World Breastfeeding Week under IAPSM; UGC Hotline for Anti Ragging (MHRD); OFAMOS-DMMP-MCI-MoHFW; AISHE (MHRD); NIRF (MHRD); ARIIA (MHRD); PGNEET and UGNEET.

Dr S. Vijaya Kumari, Dr M. S. Aruna and Dr T. Siva Kala, Assistant professors, successfully completed training in ICD-10 coding at CBHI, Bangalore, in 2016 and conducted training sessions for faculty, Post Graduates, Interns of KMC and staff of Medical records section, Superintendent office, GGH during 2017 and 2018. Dr M. S. Aruna was Nodal Person for IAPSM World TB Day 2018 and presented a study on Educational intervention on life style modification of government bus drivers at State IAPSM conference, Dec 2017. Dr G. Hema Nalini and Dr K. Shantha Kumari were among the best PG papers selected during this conference at Vizag.

Swasthya Vidya Vahini was inaugurated and launched in December 2016 by Sri K. E. Krishna Murthy, the honourable Deputy Chief Minister, Government of Andhra Pradesh. Our Department is co-ordinating Swasthya Vidya Vahini programme of Kurnool District.

In the year 2017, we received Best Participation Award from the Principal, KMC for Excellent Medical Exhibits with the aim of spreading the message of health awareness among the public.

Active research is being conducted at the undergraduate (ICMR-STS projects), intern, post-graduate and faculty levels and it is being presented in many international and national conferences and published in indexed international and national journals of repute.


S.No Name Designation
1 Dr. A.Sreedevi M.D. Professor and Head
2 Dr. P.Sujatha M.D Professor, Joined in 2018
3 Dr. S.Cynthia Subhaprada M.D Associate Professor
4 Dr. S.Vijaya Kumar M.D Assistant Professor
5 Dr. M.S.Aruna M.D. Assistant Professor
6 Dr. T.Siva Kala M.D. Assistant Professor
7 Dr. V.Manoj Kumar MBBS Deputy Civil Surgeon
8 Dr. K.Bali Reddy DHHM., DPH Deputy Civil Surgeon
9 Dr. J.Ramanjaneyulu M.S. Deputy Civil Surgeon
10 Dr. O.Prabhavathi Devi DGO In-service PG
11 Sri K.Maruthi Prasad M.Sc Lecturer in Statistics and Demography
12 Smt Rajani Lecturer in Social Sciences

RHC Parla Staff: Dr Anuradha M.D, Dr Prasanna Vijaya Kumari MBBS.

Post Graduates

S.No Name Year
1 Dr P.Kalyani 2015
2 Dr U.Venkateswarlu 2015
3 Dr. B.Siva Gopal 2015
4 Dr. K.Shantha Kumari 2016
5 Dr. R.Hemalatha 2017
6 G. Hema Nalini 2017
7 Dr. T.Ravikumar 2018
8 Dr. J.Padmaja 2018
9 Dr. K.Rama Sireesha 2018
10 Dr. J.Rekha (DPH) 2018


facebook twitter linkedin rss