phone-icon +91 08518-255160
email-icon info@kurnoolmedicalcollege.in
admissions faculty successive-principles media-clips contact-us

Department of CT Surgery

The Department of CT surgery was established in 1959. Dr. Raghavendra Rao M.S. was the first CT Surgeon. He underwent training in UK under Sir Russell Brock. He first started department with Non Cardiac Thorasic Surgery. He conducted first successful closed Mitral Volvotomy in Feb 1961. After that time the CTVS department in Kurnool Medical College serving the poor needy patients of Rayalaseema region in the fields of Thoracic Surgery, closed Cardiac Surgery and Vascular Surgery.

After Dr. Raghavendra Rao, CTVS department was successively developed by other famous surgeons like Dr. Solmon, Dr. P.V. Chalapathi Rao, Dr. K.V. Naidu, Dr. P.V.R. Bhaskar Rao, Dr. Jaipal Reddy, Dr. Sreedhar Rao, Dr. Hariprem, Dr. S.B.R. Narasimham and Dr. S. Narasimharao presently department is running under the guidance of Dr. C. Prabhakara Reddy, MS MCh. This was the earliest Super speciality department started with 14 beds, early in 1964 the department is still working with same strength. Because of non availability of latest equipments and open Heart Surgery Facility it is lagging behind of other departments. Inspite of this, department of CTVS serving poor needy patients in the field of closed cardiac surgeries, Thoracic Surgeries and Vascular Surgeries.

Dr. Prabhakara Reddy
Dr. Anuradha

facebook twitter linkedin rss