Contact Us
phone-icon +91 08518-255160
email-icon info@kurnoolmedicalcollege.in

Department of CT Surgery

The Department of CT surgery was established in 1959. Dr. Raghavendra Rao M.S. was the first CT Surgeon. He underwent training in UK under Sir Russell Brock. He first started department with Non Cardiac Thorasic Surgery. He conducted first successful closed Mitral Volvotomy in Feb 1961. After that time the CTVS department in Kurnool Medical College serving the poor needy patients of Rayalaseema region in the fields of Thoracic Surgery, closed Cardiac Surgery and Vascular Surgery.

After Dr. Raghavendra Rao, CTVS department was successively developed by other famous surgeons like Dr. Solmon, Dr. P.V. Chalapathi Rao, Dr. K.V. Naidu, Dr. P.V.R. Bhaskar Rao, Dr. Jaipal Reddy, Dr. Sreedhar Rao, Dr. Hariprem, Dr. S.B.R. Narasimham and Dr. S. Narasimharao presently department is running under the guidance of Dr. C. Prabhakara Reddy, MS MCh. This was the earliest Super speciality department started with 14 beds, early in 1964 , now the Department recently renovated in 2016 with 20 beds, and 7 beds ICU, with state of art facilities like 2 Modular ICUs, Ventilators, Monitors, CRRT , ABG Machine, IABP MACINE, etc., Now Department performing all Cardiac Surgeries like Congenital surgeries like ASD, VSD, PDA Valvular Surgeries like MVR, AVR, DVR and Valve Repairs, Coronary Surgeries like CABG both on pump and off pump and Cardiac Tumours and all other Open Heart Surgeries and Bypass Surgeries ... nearly 100 surgeries per anum performing in this department.

facebook twitter linkedin rss