phone-icon +91 08518-255160
email-icon info@kurnoolmedicalcollege.in
admissions faculty successive-principles media-clips contact-us

Department of Nephrology

Was formed in 1985, to offer Nephrology services to the entire Rayalaseema region. It was the 3rd department in AP State after Osmania Medical College, Hyderabad and Andhra Medical College, Vizag.

Artificial Kidney unit was started in 1974 itself under the auspicies of Urology department headed by Dr. A. Vikram Simha Reddy, Urologist, First hemodialysis was done with machine donated by local philanthropist. In 1985. A.K. Unit, came under control of Nephrology department.

The Nephrology department offers general Nephrology services, peritoneal dialysis, and Hemodialysis services to Acute Renal failure. Also Renal biopsies are performed. The department of Nephrology has been headed by Dr. Gopala Krishna, Dr. Anuradha, Dr. Raja Mallaiah, Dr. Girish Narain, Dr. Pradeep Deshpande, Dr. Aruna and Dr. Venkateswar Rao in that order Dr. Raja Mallaiah has served in the department for long time. Presently th eunit is managed by Dr. P.N. Jikki, MD DM. The department has conducted continuing Medical Education Programme in 2000, 2002 and 2003.

facebook twitter linkedin rss