Contact Us
phone-icon +91 08518-255160
email-icon info@kurnoolmedicalcollege.in

Department of Opthalmology

The Department of Ophthalmology was started in 1941 in Government General Hospital with one unit having 33 beds and was attached to Kurnool Medical College, Kurnool subsequently. A central mobile ophthalmic unit was sanctioned by the Government of India under N.P.C.B headed by one civil surgeon with additional staff in 1978. The unit stood first in India by conducting 2834 cataract operations in 1980-81 with the untiring efforts of Dr. D. Lakshman Swamy Reddy and his team.

Subsequently , due to the increase in volume of work, two more units were created with additional staff in 1980, the Central Mobile Ophthalmic unit headed by a civil surgeon was converted into teaching unit in 1984 , creating a 4th ophthalmic unit.

Due to the great efforts of our Late Padmabhushan DR. P. Siva Reddy , the Ophthalmic department of Kurnool, Warangal and Vishakhapatnam were converted into regional eye hospitals with additional staff and building with independent administration.

As such the Phase-1 building was inaugurated by the then Chief Minister Sri Bhavanam Venkatrami Reddy Garu on 5/06/1982. The Phase -2 was then inaugurated by the then hon'ble Chief Minister Sri. N.Janardhana Reddy Garu ON 18/08/91. The Hon'ble Central Minister Sri Kotla Vijaya Bhaskar Reddy Garu the union minister for law justice and company affairs was the chief guest.

Post graduate courses were started in 1968 with 1 M.S and 1 D.O. In 2014 the post graduate seats were enhanced from 4 to 7 ( M.S. Ophthalmology). These 7 seats being recognized by MCI in 2017 in addition to 3 D.O seats.

As of now the R.E.H ,KURNOOL is a 75 bedded hospital with 4 ophthalmic units with 4 Professors , 2 Associate Professors 6 Assistant Professors, 5 Civil Assistant Surgeons.

S.No Name
1 DR. H.Sree Ranganath
2 DR. A.Ahikrishnad
3 DR. K.Bhaskar Rao
4 DR. D.V.Giddaiah
5 DR. P.Sudhakar Rao
6 DR. G.S.Rama Prasad
7 DR. G.Narendranath Reddy

The present head of department of ophthalmology ,Dr. K.Bharani Kumar Reddy ,and superintendent Dr.G.Narendranath Reddy are taking steps in developing the department of Ophthalmology (R.E.H) Kurnool and carrying the legacy with the help of dedicated teaching faculty,

Dr. K.Revathy,Professor
Dr.B.Ugandhar Reddy, RMO,

Assistant Professors

1 Dr. P.Venkateswarlu 2 Dr. M.Satyanarayana Reddy 3 Dr. K.Anjaneyulu
4 Dr. A.Geetha 5 Dr. P.R.Niveditha 6 Dr. N.Kasturi
7 Dr. S.Anuradha 8 Dr. B.Latha 9 Dr. N.Jayanthi
10 Dr. P.Jayalakshmi Devi ( Anesthetist )

facebook twitter linkedin rss