Contact Us
phone-icon +91 08518-255160
email-icon info@kurnoolmedicalcollege.in

Department of Peadiatric Medicine

Our paediatric department is the leading tertiary care hospital in Kurnool exclusively catering children's health needs in Rayalaseema and near by states like Telangana & Karnataka. We focus on providing a healing touch to every sick child in our premises extending aid in every possible way.

The Department takes pride in itself on having multiple specialites like NICU,SNCU,PICU,DEIC & NRC apart from regular daily OP's, daily immunization sessions, 24 hour emergency services and lab services.

This prestigious department was started under the direction of Dr.Lingam krishnaiah in the year 1958. Later second unit was created in the year 1981 and Third unit in the year 1999 and furthere unit is started w.e.f. 2012.

The post graduate course Dch was started in the year 1961. The PG degree MD in Paediatrics was started in year 1976-77. Number of postgraduate seats was increased from 2 MDs to 8 MDs by 2014 with current status is 8 MDs and 3 DCHs. per year under dr NTUHS, Vijayawada.

The post graduate alumni has brought name and fame to the department for occupying as heads in various medical colleges and holding important positions abroad. Many number of post graduates have done super specialties and serving in reputed institutions world wide.

The existing New Paediatric block as a part of MCH Block was a dream project of many. But the person who made it into reality is non other than our Paediatrics Professor and HOD now the Principal of Kurnool Medical College Dr.G.S.Ramaprasad, MD (PGIMER) whose untiring efforts & guidance has made the dream possible with extended help of G.Pulla Reddy charitable trust whose sponsored 1 crore rupees fund to the building construction. The construction was completed with a total sanctioned amount of 38 crores rupees under the MCH Project.

Our department was started with 30 beds as a single unit and it has now blossomed to 300 beds spreading in to 4 units with additional wings of NICU,SNCU,NRC,PICU & DEIC. We are running immunization programme according to national immunization schedule, vaccinating children around 120-130 perday .

At present it is rendering all tertiary care services on par with corporate hospitals to the poorest of the poor and needy sick children.

We are also conducting speciality clinic like well baby clinic,Followup of high ristk babies, Thalassemia, Brochial Asthma and Adolacent care units .

Our's is a Nodal Training centre for various government organized programmes like FBNC, IMNCI&IYCF, FIMNCI, BNRCP & PRE-SERVICE IMNCI. Guest lecturers and many CME's are being conducted for updating the knowledge and recent recommendations. We are conducting IAP UG, PG & Nurses quiz programmes for the past 30 years. Our under graduates reached finals at national level thrice. We also hosted the prestigious IAP (Indian Academy of Paediatrics) state paediatric conference in the year 2011.

We also take pride to say that our department was allotted as practical examination center for DNB of National Board Examination New Delhi since last year.

To give a brids eye view regarding under whose guidance the department has progressed and attained the present stage.

Dr. G. Purushotham Rao, Dr. Purohith, Dr. Afzal Ali Khan, Dr. Singa Raja, Dr. Rama Rao, Dr.C. Satyanarayana, Dr. T.P. Raghavan, Dr. N. Santha Kumari, Dr. V. Murali Mohan, Dr. B. Anjaiah, Dr.G.S.Ramaprasad.

Staff Pattern:

S.No Name Designation
1 Dr. G.S.Ramaprasad,MD,PGIMER; Professor - Unit I
2 Dr. G.V.Ramadevi,MD Professor & HOD - Unit II
3 Dr. M.Ravikumar,MD Professor - Unit III
4 Dr. G.Sarada,MD Professor - Unit IV
5 Dr. M.Suhasini,MD Associate Professor
6 M. Sultana, MD. Associate Professor
7 Dr. P.Ravindranath Reddy,MD Associate Professor
8 Dr. S.Srilatha,MD Associate Professor
9 Dr. K.Aruna Jyothi,MD Associate Professor
10 Dr. M.Mallikarjuna,MD Associate Professor
11 Dr. M.Swetha,MD Associate Professor
12 Dr. Ramana Rao Associate Professor
13 Dr. M.Naga Sayana Rao,MD(Dermatology) Residents/Tutor
14 Dr. K.Johnson Rajkumar, MBBS,MS; Residents/Tutor


S.No Name Designation
1 Dr. Sake Divya Vani,MD Assistant Professor
2 Dr. Yadarla Krishna,MD Assistant Professor
3 Dr. K.Ramachandrudu,DCH Assistant Professor
4 Dr. P.Neeharika Medical Officer


S.No Name Designation
1 Dr. Rajkumar Madari Medical Officer
2 Dr. K.Shanthi Medical Officer


S.No Name Designation
1 Dr. A.Vishnupirya,MD Assistant Professor
2 Dr. K.Sanjeeva Rayudu Medical Officer
3 Dr. P.Hadassah Dentist

facebook twitter linkedin rss