Contact Us
phone-icon +91 08518-255160
email-icon info@kurnoolmedicalcollege.in

Department of Pharmacology

The Department of Pharmacology in Kurnool Medical College was established on 11.10.1957 and headed and developed by Sri. Dr. P.S.R.K.Haranath Sir.

The Department was headed by many renowned academicians like Sri. Dr. P.S.R.K.Haranath Sir who was HOD during period 1957-1958 and further he served as same on subsequent spells upto 1979.

Sri. Dr. P.S.R.K.Haranath's rich contribution to academic work in department is phenomenal.

1. Paper publishments - 40 papers in various Indian and British journals. 2. Research works done at department of Pharmacology - 43 publications - National and International. 3. Also he is an author of book in Pharmacology named " Seeds of Enquiry ,Fruits of Research" which is very useful to academic persuaders and is made easy to readers by our pharmacology cause champion Sri Dr. P.S.R.K.Haranath

Sri. Dr. P.S.R.K.Haranath during his Principal and HOD Pharmacology tenure period was awarded the prestigious Dr B.C.Roy National award for eminent medical teacher from Hon'ble Prime Minister Sri Morarji Deasi Garu on 21-03-1979. Dr.Venkatakrishna Bhatt,who joined as Assistant Research officer,ICMR also received Dr B.C.Roy National award in 2004.

The Department of Pharmacology was headed by distinguished personalities like Dr L.B.Gopalakrishna Murthy, Dr. P. Sisodia, Dr. G. Devasankaraiah, Dr. P. Pentaiah, Dr. K. Seshagiri Rao, Dr.K.Siva Bhushanam, Dr. K. Md. Abdullah, Dr. Ayyapu Reddy, Dr. S. Shyamala Kumari, Dr. Vijaya and Dr. Amaravathi.

Post Graduate seats were enhanced from 2 to 3 from 2010 onwards and the enhanced seat was recognized by MCI in May 2016.

PG & UG academic programmes are going on very well and our UG students achieved top marks in Dr NTR UHS exams and a pass % of around 98%. PG students achieved top marks in Dr NTR UHS M.D., Pharmacology exams. The names of PGs who stood first in the respective years are Dr M. Ashalatha in 2006 and Dr P. Jagadeesh in 2008, Dr B.Gajenra Naidu in 2009, Dr.E.Madhavi in 2010.

The KMC, Kurnool was chosen as ADR Monitoring centre (AMC) under the National Programme PvPI-Pharmacovigilance Programme of India in Jan 2014 and since then it has been functioning under the control of Regional Coordinator & HOD of Pharmacology. So far yearly almost 400 -500 reports have been reported for follow up.

The faculty of Pharmacology is continuing in the footsteps of our eminent predecessors and have around 25 papers in their bag. The PGs have presented papers and posters in various conferences. In a nutshell Eminent luminaries' relentless hard work and dedicated efforts are keeping the Department of Pharmacology abreast and to a good shine and bright glow.

facebook twitter linkedin rss