phone-icon +91 08518-255160
email-icon info@kurnoolmedicalcollege.in
admissions faculty successive-principles media-clips contact-us

Department of Psychiatry

Dept. of Psychiatry had a humble beginning in 1960 along with the Medical College is started with Dr. Shiva Kumar Shastry who was running the Dept. as lecturer in Psychiatry. Initially he started out patient services, later on in patient services was added in Dept. of Medicine.

The following is list of successive heads of Dept. of Psychiatry.

1    Dr. Neelakanta Raju Yadav
2    Dr. Hanumantha Rao
3    Dr. Appala Raju
4    Dr. T. Surya Narayana
5    Dr. Bhujanga Rao
6    Dr. Subramanyam
7    Dr. Dr. G.V. Ramana Rao
8    Dr. Chandra Sekhar Reddy, he also served the Institute as superintendent of Govt. Gen. Hospital, Kurnool.

Later Dr. Bhagya Rao, Dr. Bhuvaneswari also served as heads of Dept. for brief period.

Presently the Dept. is headed by Dr. V. Pramod Kumar, Prof. of Psychiatry, Dr. M. Rama Subba Reddy, and C.A. Ratnamma are serving the Dept. as Asst. Prof. and tutor respectively.

Department Faculty List-2014

S.No Name Qualifications Designation Join Date

Dr.A.Vijaya Chandra Reddy

MD (Psy)


Mar 2008

facebook twitter linkedin rss